My classroom called life…Kingdom lessons

My desire is to abide

SMG: Day 3 February 20, 2008

Filed under: Surprise Me God — charredsmore @ 12:45 pm

I love this experiment!  God is so fun.

This report is a bit random as I share about the day, so bare with me.

Today began with a little personal prayer time in my room.  Something compelled me to look back in old journals.  I didn’t realize I had so many.  I probably have at least 10-14 from the past three years.  Flipping through the beginning pages of my journey in Cairo I was surprised by some of the things I had written.  I plan on copying some of the prayers written for my co-laborers at Two Rivers…a little dose of encouragement from the past. 

Also, I was compelled to read day 3 from Terry Esau’s book Surprise Me, reflecting on his experiment.  A few quotes that inspired me:

“My deduction is that a praying Christian is carried by wonder; a prayer-less person carries the wonder and will soon get exhausted by carrying the infinite.” – Ravi Zacharias

“Imagine we are all hot air balloons and prayer is the hot air.” – Terry Esau

Am I floating today?  Carried by the hot air balloon filled with prayer?

“Which is worse, misbelieving occasionally, or believing in nothing at all?” – Terry Esau

“Maybe journaling is a form of prayer.” – Terry Esau

“When I write I can almost feel God whispering thoughts to me.” – Terry Esau

Each of these phrases ministered to me this morning as I sipped my coffee.

Next was our first official prayer/worship at the Elmwood building (for the mornings at least).  This is a new and exciting venture.  After unloading our guitars, music stands, and even the jimbe we were ready to roll.  It’s always fun worshipping in a new environment – inviting the Lord to do His thing.  Loving on people in Elmwood.  We asked that He would give these friends an encounter with Him.

A little office time before hitting up Melissa’s class.  I never quite know what to expect in Melissa’s class.  Either they are quiet and peaceful, or crazy rowdy.  God is definitely working with these kiddos.  If you haven’t read the past entry about her class, I suggest you take a peak, I think it is under “Cairo Kids” The atmosphere can change so drastically in a few short hours.  I arrived at 1:00 observing a calm classroom discuss their weekly reader, and and by 2:00 I witnessed chaotic, rebellious children.  I just prayed, that’s all I can do.  God, have your way in this classroom.  I did have a few conversations with students in the hallway, speaking encouragement and even praying with a few of them.  I see such a hunger for the Lord in these students.

My voice mail held a surprise message from a woman I met at the One Thing Conference back in December.  She wanted to connect me with someone who has a House of Prayer in MO.  There is a conference this weekend for regional leaders and she was prompted to tell me about it.  I won’t be able to go because of a different conference here in IL, but I was blessed that she thought of me anyway.  It’s funny because I had been meaning to re-connect with her this week.

I received a sweet little post card from Peter and Johanna which was super encouraging!  The prayers written on the back were timely for this season in life.  Thank you Lord for wonderful lasting friendships. 

Recently I enrolled in an Entrepreneurship class through Shawnee Community College.  PS It is free!  Bonus!  Tonight was the first night of class, and I was a bit late after finishing up with the Club House at Elmwood housing projects.  I will have to tell you about that another time, for now I will stick to the subject.  I was sitting there in class trying to get all my papers together and I hear, “Heather, I didn’t know you were taking this class.”  Looking up to see who is behind the voice, I see Rita a friend of mine from a nearby house church.  We both start laughing thinking to ourselves, “this is more than just an Entrepeurnship class.”  God is so strategic.  It gets better.  As people are introducing themselves and sharing their motives for taking the class we hear various passions being expressed…construcion business, tiling business, real estate, restaurants, small gift shops, and even a publishing company.  The man who runs a publishing company “happened” to be sitting right next to me.  I couldn’t wait for the break to ask him more about his business.  Really, I was hoping he was a Christian, and I felt he was.  He had that spiritual papa look to him, if you know what I mean.  Rita, Greg, and I were chatting after class and I asked him what the name of his publishing company was, and the name gave the answer I was looking for.  He is in the business of publishing Christian books.  YES!  Recently I have been stirred up to write a book.  Probably a book sharing testimonies that inspire faith.  After the writing conference in Redding I decided that I would not jump through all the hoops the world puts out there for writers, if God wants me to write a book and have it published, he would just have to open strategic doors.  That’s just how I feel it will happen for me.  So, here is yet another fun connection in the Kingdom.  Rita and I prayed after class together.  I think I am really going to enjoy my Tuesday nights.  Time in the car to reflect, sing, pray, read (just kidding) will be an added blessing as I haven’t had much alone time in the car lately.  God certainly has many surprises in this class and I look forward to opening each one.