My classroom called life…Kingdom lessons

My desire is to abide

PR30 – Day 20 March 17, 2010

Filed under: PR30 — charredsmore @ 5:07 pm

PR30 – Day 20 (March 14)

 

Excellence

“Heather, there is a difference between excellence and perfection.” These words were spoken to me by my supervisor five years ago while I was working with a ministry over the summer. They have stuck on me like superglue ever since. For some reason, I have struggled with perfectionism for the majority of my life…until that point. I felt I had to do things perfect, or I didn’t even want to try. I would keep at it, critiquing myself along the way. Not wanting any type of mistake, blemish, or mark on what I was doing, just wanted it to be perfect. It didn’t matter what it was…dance, artwork, school work, projects, performances, my job responsibilities, planning, preparation, relationships…basically everything. I would beat myself up when things were less than perfect. Not a way to live. Pretty stressful at times. Such pressure. Since this person has given this advice, I have learned to strive for EXCELLENCE and not perfection. There is only one who is perfect, and that certainly is not me. I desire to be a woman of excellence…with this there is freedom. Freedom to make mistakes, to learn and grow from them.

Lord, help me to live a life of excellence. I desire to be excellent at loving people as you do. It’s all about love. You are more concerned with my heart motives behind the thing, than the thing itself.

Let me move in a heart of love.

 

“Whatever you do, work heartily as for the LORD and not men, knowing that from the LORD you will receive the inheritance as your reward.  You are serving the LORD Jesus Christ.”

Colossians 3:23

 

Leave a Reply

