My classroom called life…Kingdom lessons

My desire is to abide

PR30 – Day 9 March 3, 2010

Filed under: PR30 — charredsmore @ 10:21 pm

PR30 – Day 9 (March 3)

Thanksgiving for the journey of becoming a Teacher…

As I sit here in class, my students are quietly taking their ISAT (Statewide standardized test).  I ponder the things that have happened this last year of my life.  It is such a wonderful surprise to me that I am a Teacher.  A Junior High Math Teacher.  Life has a strange way of coming full circle.  What I mean is this…God never starts something in your life that He doesn’t intend to finish. 

I studied and prepared myself at the University of Wisconsin – La Crosse to be a Teacher.  When I was younger, I always pictured myself teaching…maybe it was because my grandmother taught, or maybe it was because I liked bossing the other kids around when we played school together.  Either way, I just had it in me to teach in some capacity.  While in college I started really embracing the Lord and living my life for Him.  During that time, I realized there were so many other things that I could do with my life.  My passion shifted from teahing to desiring to become a Missionary.  I had a heart for the nations and wanted to interact with people from other lands as I shared the love of Christ with them.  It was hard to picture myself teaching in one classroom and being so stationary.  My student teaching experience came during my last quarter of school and it was okay.  I wish I could say I had a wonderful experience, but it wasn’t that way.  My cooperating teachers were amazing and I enjoyed working with the students, it just wasn’t my passion.  After that little adventure, I was pretty certain it would take a miracle to get me back in the classroom. 

So, here I am, a Teacher.  I can honestly say that this has probably been one of the most challenging years of my life, but also one of the most refining and rewarding.  My students teach me everyday.  They teach me how to love.  They teach me how to extend compassion.  They teach me how to perservere.  They teach me patience.  They teach me how to discipline.  In many ways, I believe they are even preparing me to be a parent (when that time comes).
As I take this moment to refelct, I want to thank you God for giving me this amazing privilege to teach these teenagers.  Forgive me for complaining about all the hard things I have had to endure here.  I embrace this season and ask for continued grace, strength, perserverance, and most of all LOVE.  Thank you for this gift and help me to always see this experience as such.

 

Leave a Reply

