My classroom called life…Kingdom lessons

My desire is to abide

PR30 – Day 4 February 28, 2010

Filed under: PR30 — charredsmore @ 8:21 pm

So, I am behind a little in my blogging.  Oops.  Things got a bit busy this week, but here I go, I’m catching up.

Day 4 (February 26)

Love…it’s all about LOVE!  Sometimes Christians get trapped into this, “ministry” mindset…about doing for the Lord…about serving the Lord.  I’m not saying those are bad things, but what I am saying is that my perspective has shifted.  Really, to me, it is more like, “doing WITH the Lord” and “serving WITH the Lord”.  I mean, what can I do for Him anyway?  I can love Him back…in my heart, in my words, and in my actions.  We get to choose to love Him back.  Isn’t that amazing?  We get to respond to His love towards us.  And we get to show others that love too. 
Here are some verses on love that compel me, that really stir me on the inside to know His love more and more and to be propelled in that love as I move forward.

 

“There is no fear in love. But perfect love drives out fear, because fear has to do with punishment. The one who fears is not made perfect in love.”  -1 John 4:18

  

“Bear with each other and forgive whatever grievances you may have against one another. Forgive as the Lord forgave you. And over all these virtues put on love, which binds them all together in perfect unity.”  Colossians 3:13-15

 

As for these verses found in 1 Corinthians, I sometimes replace the word love with my name and read it.  If I have love, all of those things should be true of me.  I’m not there yet, a work in progress. 

“Love is patient and kind; love does not envy or boast; it is not arrogant or rude. It does not insist on its own way; it is not irritable or resentful; it does not rejoice at wrongdoing, but rejoices with the truth.  Love bears all things, believes all things, hopes all things, endures all things.  Love never ends.”

-1 Corinthians 13:4-8

 

Leave a Reply

