My classroom called life…Kingdom lessons

My desire is to abide

PR30 – Day 2 February 24, 2010

Filed under: PR30 — charredsmore @ 6:43 pm

 

Here we are PR30 – Day 2 and already I am so pumped about this little experiment.  I am sitting here in my bedroom typing on my little netbook (by the way, I  received this netbook for FREE while taking a class, which is also FREE), all ready for work with my cup of coffee…pondering the GOODNESS of our GOD!  He is so good!  I am not just saying that either, I’m really feeling it on the inside when I write these words.  Forgive me Lord for complaining at times, when you are so stinkin’ good to me!
Okay, okay, before I start preaching…focus, Heather, focus.   For day 2, I am feeling lead to talk about perseverance.  This can only become part of me, part of my character through some hands on experience.  I bet you can think back in your own life to certain things that have grown perseverance too.  It’s not fun or easy, but in the end you take a deep breath and say, “WOW, I think that was worth it.”  You become stronger, more secure in your foundation of what makes you you.  Of course, I have a long way to go in this area, and really I have no idea what the saints go through in other places where there is extreme persecution.  I’m not even comparing.  I’m just simply reflecting on how my “classroom called life” has brought me to really appreciate the process of perseverance.

The most recent lesson in this has been living and working  in Cairo, for the past (almost) five years.  I LOVE living here…but I also dislike it at times.  It can be very frustrating coming against the spiritual darkness that exists here.  I get frustrated for me, for the students, for their parents, just everyone involved.  The coolest verse on this topic that has really helped me to stand strong in the midst of all of this has been Romans 5:1-5.

Romans 5:1-5:

 1Therefore, since we have been justified by faith, we have peace with God through our Lord Jesus Christ. 2Through him we have also obtained access by faith  into this grace  in which we stand, and we rejoice in hope of the glory of God. 3More than that, we rejoice in our sufferings, knowing that suffering produces endurance, 4and endurance produces character, and character produces hope, 5and hope does not put us to shame, because God’s love has been poured into our hearts through the Holy Spirit who has been given to us.

 

 

This is the ESV, for more depth read the amplified version (www.biblegateway.com).

The promise here I must hold onto is this…

Trails = perseverance = Character = Hope = 

No disappointment because God’s love is poured into my heart through His Spirit.

 

So, ponder that for a moment the next time you find yourself in a nasty situation…your character is being developed, along with HOPE…and you won’t finish in a state of disappointment.  Praise God!

 

Leave a Reply

