My classroom called life…Kingdom lessons

My desire is to abide

PR30 – Day 1 February 23, 2010

Filed under: PR30 — charredsmore @ 6:39 pm

What is PR30? 

 So glad you asked.  Let me fill you in.   For the last few years I have always done some type of countdown to my Birthday.  Mostly in the form of the “SMG” experiment which is “Surprise Me God”.  This time, I decided to do something a bit different. 

PR30 stands for “Project Reflection to 30”.  I will take the next 36 days until my 30th (yes, 30th) Birthday to reflect on God’s goodness, blessing, favor, grace, and growth in my life and also keep my eyes open for new areas He is working.  I’m excited about it, as it will only bring me closer to Him.  Lately, things have been a little frustrating here in Cairo…so I am going to fight off the enemy with some PRAISE!  Here we go…

PR30 Day 1

As I reflect on God’s goodness in my life, I can not help but remember when He first revealed Himself as Savior.  I grew up going to church, I was pretty involved, lead the younger ones, mission trips, VBS, the whole bit…but something was missing.  I was a “good girl” at church and did the right thing, but with my high school friends it was another story.  Here was the reality…I didn’t even understand WHO Jesus was to me.  Sure, I had heard some Bible stories, and even shared them with the younger ones…but there was NO revelation for me.  I remember being asked in Sunday school to read a scripture…I felt like I was reading another language.  It was that abstract and foreign to me.  Until…God broke into my life!  Amen.  Now, I think He was always at work and bless their hearts for serving Him and speaking truth to us young people…I was just deaf. 

While in college I was invited to go to this campus ministry dealio.  Of course, I always had excuses…”I’m too busy”, “I don’t know anyone there,” “I have a speech due tomorrow”.  You get the idea.  Finally, after a whole semester of being invited, I decided I would go.  It was time.  I went, it was great.  It wasn’t so much the people, or the community, or the joy that made me turn my head (although those things were present), but the message about Christ.  For maybe the first time in my life, I heard who JESUS was to ME.  I mean, I really heard, my ears were opened.  It was like a light bulb went on.  Later that week someone from the staff team came over to my res. hall to chat about what happened that night (I had filled out a comment card and they responded).  Of course, I was a bit nervous, didn’t really know what to expect.  Talking about God?  This wasn’t really my normal everyday conversation.  When JJ described to me how I was separated from God, my sin, God’s love, His plan for redemption, His provision through Jesus…it all clicked.  That was the day I surrendered my heart over to the one who rescued me from sin.  That was the day my new life began. 

I wish I could say it was all roses and butterflies after that moment.  It wasn’t. I still struggled with some things from the past…it really took a semester for me to get off the fence and really surrender everything.  But looking back, every day is a day to surrender.  It’s not like a moment…it’s an everyday choice to yield to truth, to justice, to righteousness, to the King.  That is my desire…to yeield to my King in all of my imperfections.

“Amazing grace, how sweet the sound, that saved a wretch like me.  I once was lost,  but now am found, was blind but now I see.”

 

One Response to “PR30 – Day 1”

  1. amanda Says:

    you’re amazing!! love those old Lax days!! seems like forever ago! love YOU!!


Leave a Reply

