My classroom called life…Kingdom lessons

My desire is to abide

9 Dresses July 4, 2009

Filed under: Uncategorized — charredsmore @ 7:00 pm

bridesmaid dresses

 

In  May I was able to travel up north to be a part of Stacy’s wedding.  Stacy and I  met while on a summer project with Campus Crusade for Christ in 2002 in Boulder, CO and have remained good friends ever since.  I am so blessed by her relationship with Tim…in many ways. 

 

This was the 8th wedding I have had the privilege to be a bridesmaid in.  Not quite 27, like the movie, but eight.  It is a wonderful thing to have so many close friends that would ask me to witness their special day.  God creating a covenant between man and woman.  I love it!  I love seeing love displayed.  Not that mooshy kind of love you see in the movies either.  That’s not real.  Go on a couple romantic dates and end up in bed together.  That’s not real love.  Real love is sacrifice.  Real love is patient.  Real love respects.  Real love waits.  Real love places the other person first.  Real love is a CHOICE not a feeling.  Sure, there will be attraction, there will be sparks and maybe even some fireworks.  But, come on…what happens when you wake up next to this person after 1o years and you are no longer feeling all those butterflies and magic?  Yea, you choose into love. 

You “choose in” to this relationship that you committed to. 

Is it difficult? 

You bet. 

Is it probably the hardest relationship you will ever encounter? 

Absolutely. 

Is it worth it? 

I think so. 

Then again, who am I to answer, I am single.

 

I will wear my ninth bridesmaid dress this fall when my beautiful roommate Stacy gets married to her wonderful fiance, Jesse.  (I just realized I will have been in three consecutive weddings for my good friends/sister who share the name “Stacy” – interesting.)  Stacy and I have been roommates and best friends for about five years.  It’s crazy to think that I have had the same roommate for that long and in different states.  Oh, this friendship has been put together by God…I will have to write a seperate blog about that. 

 

Back  to my original thoughts on love…I am amazed at the orchestration of God in how He puts people together.  It is amazing to watch.  Have you ever seen Him bring two people together…two people that compliment each other so perfectly?  I have.  It’s fascinating. 

 

To those 8 (and soon to be 9) sisters that have asked me to stand and witness your marriage being established…I love you.  I am thankful for you.  I am standing with you in prayer, trusting that God will allow the places of intimacy between you and your husband grow and mature, as you grow in the love with the Lord.  I pray He is on display in your love.

 

Leave a Reply

