My classroom called life…Kingdom lessons

My desire is to abide

Antwone Fisher March 16, 2009

Filed under: Cairo Kids — charredsmore @ 5:02 am

<a href=”“>

This movie makes me cry…
For a lot of reasons.

It reminds me too much of the situation that my kids are in here in Cairo.
I call them my kids because I feel like a mom and for some reason I think that’s okay. I’m not trying to replace their mother, but in a way we are all spiritual moms to these precious ones we love so much. We love them so much it hurts. It hurts to see them growing up in terrible situations. Terrible because their parents are broken and hurting, never healed, only to go on and continue the cycle of pain.

This movie represents the lives of so many…
Abandonded by family, abused by the ones who were entrusted to care for them, learning how to survive the war within themselves. The battle tears at their soul. They run in fear. They run from relationships, isolating themselves. Being a loner is better than being hurt. It doesn’t feel good but there doesn’t seem to be any other options. Running away from problems is no way to live. Running away from those who are trying to love you is no way to deal. Once they come to the realization that there is HOPE and that people do CARE they start opening up. It all takes time. Hearts don’t heal fast, but they do heal completely.

There is hope. There is redemption. There is forgiveness. There is newness. There is LIFE beyond the pain, abuse, neglect, and rejection, there is LIFE. His name is JESUS. He is our HOPE.

When I look into the eyes of a rebellious teen, I try not to see the hard exterior shell…I try to see what He sees. Let me take another look.

<a href=”“>

“Give me your eyes just for one minute”
Brandon Heath song

 

Leave a Reply

