My classroom called life…Kingdom lessons

My desire is to abide

Biloxi, MS…Beauty from ashes. November 17, 2008

Filed under: Ministry Stuff,Travel — charredsmore @ 5:03 am

 

biloxi-areal-view

Mississippi has a different culture, just the first day here and I can already feel a difference. The trip started with the Colfax crew swinging through Cairo to pick us up. Once we were loaded we headed all the way down to Jackson, MS. We were able to have dinner with Jesse’s friend from college, which was great. Once we arrived in Jackson and got settled into our hotel rooms we headed out for dinner. Guess where this little ol’ missionary group went for dinner…Red Lobster. Yeah, we are really roughing it aren’t we? I had shrimp alfredo, yummy! We got back from dinner at around 10:00 and I was ready to hit the sack. Sara and I fell asleep listening to a message…it was the best sleep I have had in about a month. I felt like I had slept for a month! Aaaahhh, the pillows were amazing, I wanted to bring one with me, but I resisted the temptation.

red-lobster-baby

After packing up our things, we took off for Biloxi. We arrived in no time. The camp is located on a church property, which has the capability of hosting many volunteers each week. Camp Biloxi provides housing, food, and volunteer projects for people who want to help out with rebuilding. I am looking forward to meeting the people we are working with – the homeowners. Last year our team had taken a mission trip down to New Orleans to help with disaster relief – mostly demolition work. After our summer of working rehabbing Hannah’s House, I am equipped with some practical construction skill. Mudding sheet rock, sanding, cutting trim, measuring, installing laminent flooring, painting…yeah, I’ve got some skill. I will update you as the week continues on so you can join us in prayer for this beautiful place called Biloxi. God is restoring this place – beauty from ashes.

 

Leave a Reply

