My classroom called life…Kingdom lessons

My desire is to abide

SMG: Day 44 Happy Birthday to ME April 4, 2008

Filed under: Surprise Me God — charredsmore @ 8:49 pm

Yes, today I turned a whopping 28 years old. No, I am not old.  I mean come on, if I am thinking in the realm of eternity…I am just getting started! 

God is good.  He has been so faithful to me throughout my years.  I praise Him for sustaining me and giving me LIFE.  I believe this is a year for new things. This is a year for dreams to become reality.  I believe there will be clarity this year.  Promises fulfilled.  His promises are always “YES” and “AMEN”.  I know in His word that He will not always bring comfort, but He will bring REDEMPTION.  This is a prayer that has been on my heart for the past three years.  Redemption.  Redeem all I thought was lost.  I already see this unfolding in past relationships, mistakes, sin – HE has the POWER to turn it around.  Probably the biggest area in my life right now needing redemptive power is my family.  They are wonderful, but there are areas that need to be reconciled and reconstructed.  He is a master builder and I have confidence that He is creating a beautiful piece of art.  Join me in praying for my family.  A friend reminded me of a quote tonight while my family here in Cairo was praying over me,

“If you take care of my family, I will take care of yours.” 

No, this is not specifically in the scripture, however there is a verse that backs it up.

I tell you the truth,” Jesus replied, “no one who has left home or brothers or sisters or mother or father or children or fields for me and the gospel will fail to receive a hundred times as much in this present age (homes, brothers, sisters, mothers, children and fields—and with them, persecutions) and in the age to come, eternal life. But many who are first will be last, and the last first.”

Mark 10:29-31

At times I have felt guilty for being so far away from my family (more than 13 hour drive).  When things are a little shaky, I want to be there to steady it out, to fix it.  Perhaps it is my restorative nature or my pride.  Either way, I am not the Savior, I am not the one who will fix anything that is broken.  God is ABLE and He is already at work. 

“And we know that for those who love God all things work together for good.” 

Romans 8:28

I must remember this, my God is abundantly available to me and my family. He is here.  Thank you Abba.

Today overflowed with surprises!  I woke up casting off all expectations, letting the Lord surprise me just as He wanted.  My family here had put together a few collages with pictures, words, and scriptures that they saw developing in my life.  What a GIFT!  That’s what I love, those precious things that are made with such thought and care.  I came home for lunch to see a present on my bed from my roommate.  The post office had a package and a few cards for me from family.  Yes!  Right on time.  Many facebook Birthday wishes.  Texts from good friends.  Calls from close friends.  A Birthday celebration with my favorite foods.  More presents.  Thank you all for being a part of my life and celebrating my birthday with me.

Good friends, they are the best gift the Lord could give me. 

 

Oh, I just have to add this…

My theme song for this year is “Move me Aside” (Lindsey Kane).  I want to see the Lord move in increadible ways through me, so I am asking that I would be invisble and He would be visible in my life. 

“Lord, here am I, move me aside and move in me.  Move in this place, till I embrace you King of Kings.”

 

3 Responses to “SMG: Day 44 Happy Birthday to ME”

  1. paulwwalters Says:

    Happy Birthday Heather!

    I hope this year is the best yet!

    (And it’s my step-dad’s birthday as well- neat, huh?)

  2. charredsmore Says:

    Thanks Paul.

    We look forward to seeing you when you come down to Cairo.

  3. lindsey kane Says:

    wow! i can’t tell you how humbled and encouraged and excited i am that you would choose that song as your theme song for the year! just had to tell you that stinkin’ blessed me to see your blog! “move me aside” has been the prayer of my life and ministry for several years now and God truly answers that prayer! YOU GO GIRL! happy bday too!


Leave a Reply

