My classroom called life…Kingdom lessons

My desire is to abide

SMG: Day 43 April 4, 2008

Filed under: Revelation and Growth,Surprise Me God — charredsmore @ 8:41 pm

Still rainy, but we still wanted to get out there and hike around.  This group is familiar with many hiking locations in the area (as they live closer), they took us to Burden Falls.  As we drove through the windy dirt road path, I gazed upon the beauty of the Lord.  Once we got out of the car, we all smelled this nasty, rank, rotten scent.  What is that?!?  Someone points to a dead horse.  Yes, I said horse.  Just lying there near the head of the waterfall.  Disgusting.  If you stood just right, and the wind was in your favor, you could avoid the nastiness floating in the air.  Yuck! 

The waterfall was simply beautiful.  Fresh water spilling over the rocks, flowing down into a narrow creek.  The symbolism was striking, there we stood faced with death and life.  It reminded me of the scripture in Deuteronomy 30:15-20

 “See, I set before you today life and prosperity, death and destruction.  For I command you today to love the LORD your God, to walk in his ways, and to keep his commands, decrees and laws; then you will live and increase, and the LORD your God will bless you in the land you are entering to possess.

  But if your heart turns away and you are not obedient, and if you are drawn away to bow down to other gods and worship them, I declare to you this day that you will certainly be destroyed. You will not live long in the land you are crossing the Jordan to enter and possess.

  This day I call heaven and earth as witnesses against you that I have set before you life and death, blessings and curses. Now choose life, so that you and your children may live and that you may love the LORD your God, listen to his voice and hold fast to him. For the LORD is your life, and he will give you many years in the land he swore to give to your fathers, Abraham, Isaac and Jacob.”

  How often is this true in our daily lives?  The option to choose life or death.  In words, in action, in submission, in humility, in relationship, in work, in ministry, in church, in family…choose LIFE.  Today I choose life, I choose you LORD.

 

We played on the rocks, like little kids in a jungle gym.  Fitting, I guess this is God’s playground.  How fun!  I love bouldering around.  We got some fun pics before heading out on the “trail”.  I guess we made our own trail.  Trailblazers…forerunners.  We just went along the waters edge, hoping along from rock to rock.  I found a rock that resembles the state of MN.  I took it home.  Maybe I’ll paint it.   

 

These hidden pockets in Southern IL, I need to do more exploring, we have amazing hiking spots around here. 

 

 

Leave a Reply

