My classroom called life…Kingdom lessons

My desire is to abide

SMG: Day 14 March 4, 2008

Filed under: Surprise Me God — charredsmore @ 7:09 am

the-shack.jpg

The sun was shining today!

We had a wonderful breakfast with Shirley and Darryl (Jess’ parents) at the Nu Diner – one of the few restaurants in Cairo.  It’s always nice to walk into a restaurant and see so many familiar faces…ah, small town life.  It was good to especially see a woman there that I have been meeting to connect with for a the past few weeks.  Also, I was glad to speak with Preston Ewing, the author of Let My People Go, a historical account of the civil rights movement in Cairo, the gate to the north.  I actually mentioned this book a few days ago in my blog.  I knew the book was no longer in print and it would be pretty difficult to get a copy, but I had no idea that on Amazon.com the book is selling for $225.00!  Yikes!  Good thing I have the hook up to get it for $25.  Preston is a treasure of resource on the historical happenings in this beloved community.  Currently he is working on a new edition of this book with history going all the way back to the 1800s.  In a year or so it will be in print and I look forward to reading it.  Stacy informed me that some of his extensive research has been compiled and made available at the SIU campus in Carbondale.  I’ll have to take a little field trip to the library. 

House shopping is always a fun activity in Cairo.  There are over 300 abandoned buildings/homes…so just imagine the “potential”.  Shirley is a Realtor and her and her husband fix homes and rent them out – so they were a great resource to have while looking at various properties.  We looked at a few available homes, including “Hashem House” that Amanda is hoping to purchase (written about on SMG: Day 11). 

A little nap served as my transition into the afternoon.

I took a little dip in the hot tub and finished a FABULOUS book:  The Shack, written by William Young.

 Dinner was surprisingly delicous – creamed corn chowder.  Sounds pretty sick to me, but it was actually very edible.  Thanks Amander.

 

3 Responses to “SMG: Day 14”

  1. paulwwalters Says:

    You’re buying a house? Sounds fun!

  2. charredsmore Says:

    I didn’t say I was buying a house. Just looking.


Leave a Reply

