My classroom called life…Kingdom lessons

My desire is to abide

SMG: Day 10 February 27, 2008

Filed under: Surprise Me God — charredsmore @ 1:01 pm

The day began with a reminder from Stacy that we didn’t have our team worship until 10:00.  Doh!  I thought we were heading over to Elmwood at 8:00.  This gave me some study/prayer/worship time in my room before advancing out to the housing projects. 

At Elmwood we encountered much guidance and encouragement from the Lord as we prayed for His Spirit to touch the people living there – each home, each family member Lord. 

Come, meet with each one.  Reveal yourself to them.  Strip them of all the world, the enemy, and their own sin has placed upon them that resists the truth of the gospel.  Strip them of all that is hindering your fruit in their lives.  Come Jesus, come Spirit, come Father.  We are desperate for you in this place.

There was a lot of singing, stomping, asking, agreeing, and dancing as we worshipped together.  I am loving this place more and more.  Yeah, both Elmwood and worship. 

Elmwood Clubhouse was especially fun today.  Stacy lead a Bible study/discussion about angels.  Funny how we are taught lies as kids, “We become angels when we die.”  “Your __________ relative who passed away is now an angel watching over you.”  All sorts of crazy things are taught to children – not rooted in anything but imagination.  Don’t get me wrong, I am all about imagination, but let’s stick to truth in the Word.  Stacy did a great job answering questions while still being her compassionate self in addressing heart issues.  After the Bible study split up into our two groups – knitting and games.  Sara and I played Monopoly with the boys and had a great time.  It has been neat seeing them interact in this new setting.  Something so simple to most has been pretty incredible for me to be a part of and observe.  These kids rarely interact with adults in this type of environment.  They lack structure and discipline at home – most of the time.  It is good seeing them do simple things like count their money to purchase the railroad company, take turns, and even remain honest in the game.  I know, sounds pretty basic.  If you saw where these kids are coming from you would understand that it is a big deal.  I praise God for the changes I see in each one.  They are being transformed – from the inside out. 

Class tonight – round 2.  I love that this class is offered to people in the region free of charge in order to bring new economic opportunities to the area.  There is great need for people to be mobilized in the area of launching business.  Many in the class already own their own business, but are further educating themselves.  Some however have never owned a business and are intrigued by the possibility.  I am beginning to get to know a few people who sit next to me.  They all have interesting journeys that have brought them to this place in life.  I am probably one of the youngest in the class – with a few others in their 20s.  An added blessing is dinner being included with the class.  The instructors truly encourage fellowship and networking within the class, which is great considering the size – about 45 people.  Two of my favorites – fellowship and networking!  I love it.  It’s great meeting new people and hearing about their passions, dreams, and goals.  I look forward to the new doors that will open as a result of this class.  Lord – I am just asking for the patience and self discipline to sit for 3 hours every Tuesday night, I get a little restless sometimes. 

 

Leave a Reply

