My classroom called life…Kingdom lessons

My desire is to abide

“Surprise Me God” February 18, 2008

Filed under: Surprise Me God — charredsmore @ 2:42 am

I first heard about this experiment a few years back with doing GreaterWorks in Minneapolis.  A couple of my roommates had gone to church hearing testimonies of this man who wrote a book sharing about his 30 day “Surprise me” experiment.  I thought it was pretty cool, considering I was always asking for divine appointments and seemed to have “random” things happen in daily life anyway.  Recently I was reminded of this man as I came across the book on a friend’s bookshelf. 

Yesterday I watched about 5 or 6 episodes of 24 (season 6 to be exact)…man I got sucked IN!  Amanda and Jess laugh at me as I gasp, yell, and ask questions throughout the show.  I am probably not the person to watch 24 with…unless you like that sort of thing.  I just can’t help it!  For those that have seen the show, you know what I am talking about.  Last night I told Amanda, “I pretty much almost have a heart attack every time I watch this show!”  But, for some reason, I like feeling that way.  Sitting on the edge of my seat, biting my fingernails, and yes, even yelling at the TV while waiting for the next suspenseful scene to come forth just brings me joy.  What doesn’t bring me joy is all that grotesque torture (I won’t even mention some of the scenes I viewed last night) and violence…which is pretty much what terrorist attacks are all about.  So, I came to the conclusion that I will put aside my obsession with 24 for a while (maybe forever) and pick up some excitement with Jesus.  He can bring thrills, suspense, and victory in real life.  That’s what I want, the real thing.

Which brings me to this little experiment, “Surprise Me God”.  Yes, I know it sounds cheesy and all, but hear me out.  God is all about mystery and surprise.  He is the supreme creator and author of LIFE.  He loves to woo us into a deeper place of love and affection, even if it is through little surprises each day.

My hope is to daily record the “surprises” that come across my path for the next 30 days.  If you want to come along for the journey, you are welcome…or you can try your own experiment. 

Lord, open my eyes to the ways in which you are orchestrating things, the ways that you are working.  Open my eyes and ears to experience your surprises.

“Now to him who is able to do immeasurably more than all we ask or imagine,

according to his power that is at work within us.”


Ephesians 3:20

 

5 Responses to ““Surprise Me God””

  1. Emilie Says:

    hey girl,
    this sounds like something i’d like to do with you. thirty days of being open to seeing God’s love in a new, hopeful way. i could use that.
    E

  2. Emilie Says:

    hey girl,
    this sounds like something i’d like to do with you. thirty days of being open to seeing God’s love in a new, hopeful way. i could use that.
    E

  3. paulwwalters Says:

    24 is an awesome show! I watched all of season 1 and half of 2, but I decided that I was wasting too much time with it that I could be using for other things. There’s only so much time and most of it we waste on things with little or no importance.

    I re-read the Screwtape Letters a few weeks ago (maybe it was the first time, but I thought I’d read it before) and that was the message that really was hammered home. It doesn’t have to be ax-murdering or serial rape that sends you to hell, it’s the slow safe comfortable descent filled with nothing much important. All they have to do is keep you busy and comfortable and you’re set, it’s only a matter of time.

  4. charredsmore Says:

    Go for it Em! I am excited to see what God is going to reveal to you!

  5. […] How’s this for cool? A Hashem spotlight! Posted on March 4, 2008 by amandadums One of my friends recently posted a blog about Hashem House and the little experiment she’s been doing called “Surprise Me, God.”  For more info on what that is check out her post on it here:  https://extremejourney.wordpress.com/2008/02/18/surprise-me-god/  […]


Leave a Reply

