My classroom called life…Kingdom lessons

My desire is to abide

SMG: Day 1 February 18, 2008

Filed under: Surprise Me God — charredsmore @ 10:59 pm

Already the SMG (Surprise Me God) experiment is off to a great start!

It’s always fun to look back at old journals. 

Where have I grown? 

What was I praying? 

What was I learning? 

What was I doing? 

These answers sometimes surprise me as I pass through old journal pages.

Yesterday I opened an old journal, but this journal is a bit different than the rest.  Filled with magazine clippings, artwork, scriptures, prayers and my imagination running wild.  The Starbucks napkin glued on the page caught my attention.  There was a prayer written on the top.  This prayer was for personal growth in a very specific area – something that I desired to see God do through this weak vessel.  Immediately I was carried back 1 1/2 years – the summer of 2006 waiting at the Kansas City airport to catch a flight to Denver.  I had been blessed with the opportunity to return to Alamosa, CO as a starter for YouthWorks.  The summer prior to 2006 I had spent working in Alamosa with YouthWorks (a youth missions organization).  At the airport I had some time to journal and reflect, so I wrote out a couple prayers on random napkins.  Without going into specifics, the prayer I had written back then has been directly answered as I reflect on the “now season” in my life. 

Praise God! 

I love how He constantly reminds us of those things we ask for, knowing that He has already, or is in the process of answering. 

Remember, if you are praying according to His will (Word) your prayers WILL be received.  [1 John 5:13-15]

Where have you recently been encouraged by specific prayers for yourself being answered?

PS  Please let me know if you are doing this SMG experiment.  I am so encouraged by your faith!  Let’s share our testimonies together…

 

Leave a Reply

